New to CI

Mrs T7

Hi everyone. I’m Sonja, and I’m totally new in the CI world. Grew up in the “hearing” world, but struggled my whole life to “fit in”. I just received my external device a week ago and it’s been a wild ride of emotions. I have used hearing aids since I was 5yo, and never really understood “hearing” life. I always had negative experiences growing up: people yelling at me, being made fun of, picked on, not many friends....you get the drift. Now with this device [Rondo 3] I’m having a heck of a time adjusting. I guess I would love some feedback and/or encouragement that it will get better. I know it takes time, I suppose I was hoping to get a job ASAP afterwards, but still, not understanding speech with people. I get about 20% but not enough to get the whole content they may be speaking. Anyways, I’m blabbing away.  Hope to have some responses about your story of getting “plugged in” (as I like to say it 😎)

• HearPeers Heroes

Hi Sonja @Mrs T7

congratulations on your CI!  Only one week ago so everything is so new and overwhelming.  We understand.  We are a friendly group.  I’m glad you found us.

I live in the US.  I’m not sure where you are from but have you had the chance to meet others with cochlear implants?  It helps to have a support group- near or virtual (like us).

I will tag you in our rehab topic where members have shared how we trained our brains to get used to the CI.

I hope to stick around and share your journey with us.  Wishing you the best! 

3 hours ago, Mary Beth said:

Hi @Mary Beth