New to Heer Peers, Hello from Delaware!

Megan L.

• HearPeers Heroes

Hi All!

I'm new to the Med El community and I've recently been implanted on my left side - 3 weeks ago tomorrow. My surgery went very smooth and my surgeon got the implant wrapped around the cochlea the first try. Amazing! Recovery was rough though - terrible nausea and vertigo Tuesday and part of Wednesday, went away and came back Friday to Sunday. A week after the surgery I really started to feel better, just a little tired. Now at almost week 3, I feel so much better! Almost my normal self. The only thing that bothers me now is the tenderness in certain spots by the incision and the feeling of an alien object on the side of my head. Does that go away???

My activation is on Friday, Nov. 11. It's very close and I'm excited but not too excited. My left ear has not really been working for about 20 years and I accept that I may not understand anyone or hear anything at first. Definitely trying to keep expectations in check.

Since we're being honest, I almost went with Cochlear Americas. I am SO happy I didn't! At the last minute I changed my mind because the Med El implant was more advanced and better designed. Additionally, the content of the forums and blog articles were better and more useful to me. I was beginning to think no one had a hard time after the surgery until I came on here and read other people's stories. Thank you all for being honest about post-surgery and not minimizing the struggle to feel better after getting implanted! I don't feel so alone now :)  Looking forward to getting know everyone and learning your stories!

*Megan

• Like 2

• HearPeers Heroes